Following the Second World War Korea was divided at the 38th Parallel. The North became a communist state with Pyongyang as its capital. The South, supported by Western powers, became a free and democratic nation with Seoul as its capital. The "temporary" demarcation line was a constant source of friction since both sides claimed to represent the people of a whole and united Korea.

MENU ..................NEXT